The Time for Half-Truths Passed on January 6th

American Sedition goes Mainstream

The events of January 6, 2021 laid bare a wound in our democracy as 147 members of Congress openly expressed their tacit support for a movement bent on attacking the constitutional foundations of our country. A mob of thousands descended on the United States Capitol Building with the intent of preventing a lawful certification of votes cast by the American people during the November 2020 election. The de facto leader of this insurrection is the 45th President of the United States, Donald Trump. His key Congressional enablers are Senators Ted Cruz and Josh Hawley. We cannot sugarcoat what has happened. Many attempts will be made to whitewash, spin, and otherwise disavow January 6th, but half-truths will no longer suffice.

Prior to the attack on our Congress, the President and his 147 Congressional supporters consistently maintained the 2020 election was stolen via massive voter fraud. They cast their attempts to stop the January 6th certification process as legitimate actions aimed at satisfying their constituents’ questions. However, over 60 post-election lawsuits were filed and resolved, and none supported the contentions of fraud. So, the half-truth is these Congressional representatives were pursuing the “will of the people,” but the full truth is they were telling their supporters the United States Courts are not capable of fair and impartial reviews, and the United States Judicial System is not the correct place to resolve legal disputes. As leaders of the insurrection, they have goaded their followers to “take back the country” by whatever means available. This message was echoed for months by the President, culminating in a violent attack on the Halls of Congress during certification of the vote.

Prior to January 6th, Congressional leaders wallowed in these half-truths until the insidious process of self-deception took hold and, like the President, many began to believe their own lies. The attack on Congress was a wake-up call. Some Congressional members pulled back from the brink of sedition, but most did not. Even in the wake of an attempted coup d’état, where physical evidence of the damage wrought was at their doorstep, 147 members chose lies over truth. 

Clever dodges, spinning the facts, and half-truths will no longer suffice. I am sure many in the insurrectionist mob of January 6th say they are patriots and firmly believe the election was stolen, because that is exactly what 147 members of Congress and the President told them before and after their attempted coup. Sadly, sedition born of ignorance is still sedition. Attempts by Congressional representatives to deny their role in the failed January 6th insurrection are either acts of ignorance or cowardice.

Should you want to refresh your memory on membership in this newly formed alliance seeking to subvert the vote of the people, and hence our democracy, I have included a list below, courtesy of a January 7, 2021 Washington Post article.

Sen. Ted Cruz TX

Sen. Josh Hawley MO

Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith MS

Sen. John Neely Kennedy LA

Sen. Cynthia Lummis WY

Sen. Roger Marshall KS

Sen. Rick Scott FL

Sen. Tommy Tuberville AL

Rep. Robert B. Aderholt AL

Rep. Rick Allen GA

Rep. Jodey Arrington TX

Rep. Brian Babin TX

Rep. Jim Baird IN

Rep. Jim Banks IN

Rep. Cliff Bentz OR

Rep. Jack Bergman MI

Rep. Stephanie Bice OK

Rep. Andy Biggs AZ

Rep. Dan Bishop NC

Rep. Lauren Boebert CO

Rep. Mike Bost IL

Rep. Mo Brooks AL

Rep. Ted Budd NC

Rep. Tim Burchett TN

Rep. Michael C. Burgess TX

Rep. Ken Calvert CA

Rep. Kat Cammack FL

Rep. Jerry Carl AL

Rep. Earl L. “Buddy” Carter GA

Rep. John Carter TX

Rep. Madison Cawthorn NC

Rep. Steve Chabot OH

Rep. Ben Cline VA

Rep. Michael Cloud TX

Rep. Andrew Clyde GA

Rep. Tom Cole OK

Rep. Eric A. “Rick” Crawford AR

Rep. Warren Davidson OH

Rep. Scott DesJarlais TN

Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart FL

Rep. Byron Donalds FL

Rep. Jeff Duncan SC

Rep. Neal Dunn FL

Rep. Ron Estes KS

Rep. Pat Fallon TX

Rep. Michelle Fischbach MN

Rep. Scott Fitzgerald WI

Rep. Charles J. “Chuck” Fleischmann TN

Rep. Virginia Foxx NC

Rep. Scott Franklin FL

Rep. Russ Fulcher ID

Rep. Matt Gaetz FL

Rep. Mike Garcia CA

Rep. Bob Gibbs OH

Rep. Carlos Gimenez FL

Rep. Louie Gohmert TX

Rep. Bob Good VA

Rep. Lance Gooden TX

Rep. Paul A. Gosar AZ

Rep. Garret Graves LA

Rep. Sam Graves MO

Rep. Mark Green TN

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene GA

Rep. H. Morgan Griffith VA

Rep. Michael Guest MS

Rep. Jim Hagedorn MN

Rep. Andy Harris MD

Rep. Diana Harshbarger TN

Rep. Vicky Hartzler MO

Rep. Kevin Hern OK

Rep. Yvette Herrell NM

Rep. Jody Hice GA

Rep. Clay Higgins LA

Rep. Richard Hudson NC

Rep. Darrell Issa CA

Rep. Ronny Jackson TX

Rep. Chris Jacobs NY

Rep. Mike Johnson LA

Rep. Bill Johnson OH

Rep. Jim Jordan OH

Rep. John Joyce PA

Rep. Fred Keller PA

Rep. Trent Kelly MS

Rep. Mike Kelly PA

Rep. David Kustoff TN

Rep. Doug LaMalfa CA

Rep. Doug Lamborn CO

Rep. Jake LaTurner KS

Rep. Debbie Lesko AZ

Rep. Billy Long MO

Rep. Barry Loudermilk GA

Rep. Frank D. Lucas OK

Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer MO

Rep. Nicole Malliotakis NY

Rep. Tracey Mann KS

Rep. Brian Mast FL

Rep. Kevin McCarthy CA

Rep. Lisa McClain MI

Rep. Dan Meuser PA

Rep. Mary Miller IL

Rep. Carol Miller WV

Rep. Alex Mooney WV

Rep. Barry Moore AL

Rep. Markwayne Mullin OK

Rep. Gregory Murphy NC

Rep. Troy Nehls TX

Rep. Ralph Norman SC

Rep. Devin Nunes CA

Rep. Jay Obernolte CA

Rep. Burgess Owens UT

Rep. Steven M. Palazzo MS

Rep. Gary Palmer AL

Rep. Greg Pence IN

Rep. Scott Perry PA

Rep. August Pfluger TX

Rep. Bill Posey FL

Rep. Guy Reschenthaler PA

Rep. Tom Rice SC

Rep. Mike D. Rogers AL

Rep. Harold Rogers KY

Rep. John Rose TN

Rep. Matt Rosendale MT

Rep. David Rouzer NC

Rep. John Rutherford FL

Rep. Steve Scalise LA

Rep. David Schweikert AZ

Rep. Pete Sessions TX

Rep. Jason T. Smith MO

Rep. Adrian Smith NE

Rep. Lloyd Smucker PA

Rep. Elise Stefanik NY

Rep. Greg Steube FL

Rep. Chris Stewart UT

Rep. Glenn Thompson PA

Rep. Tom Tiffany WI

Rep. William Timmons SC

Rep. Jeff Van Drew NJ

Rep. Beth Van Duyne TX

Rep. Tim Walberg MI

Rep. Jackie Walorski IN

Rep. Randy Weber TX

Rep. Daniel Webster FL

Rep. Roger Williams TX

Rep. Joe Wilson SC

Rep. Rob Wittman VA

Rep. Ron Wright TX

Rep. Lee Zeldin N

Feature Image: US Capitol Building (Modified by ArcheanWeb) – Original Credit: Photo by ElevenPhotographs on Unsplash

William House
William is an earth scientist and writer with an interest in providing the science "backstory" for breaking environmental, earth science, and climate change news.